ASC Provost Office announces the Presidential Teacher Award recipients


Eva Brown

Adams State College professors Eva Brown, instructor and coordinator of distance degree program in sociology; Dr. Kim Kelso, chair of the psychology department; and Gene Schilling, professor of art, have received the Presidential Teacher Award, recognizing outstanding undergraduate teaching, advising, and mentoring.

"It is very special to be recognized by students," Kelso said. "I choose a college teaching career because I enjoy interacting with students, and to be the recipient of a student-based award is an honor. Thank you to everyone who worked so hard on this award."

Gene Schilling

Schilling said the award is significant because it comes from the students.

In the fall, Provost Michael Mumper and a committee of undergraduate students, including Jonie Coulson, Ryan Laverdiere, Kayla Lanoue, Crystal Sebastian, Leslie Widger, and Heather Wood, initiated the award.

Dr. Kim Kelso

The Presidential Teacher will receive $1500 to support his or her professional development and the opportunity to teach a special Presidential Teacher Course during the next academic year.

The award recipients will be honored at a faculty awards banquet this weekend.