Employees recognized for years of service


Adams State College awarded Dr. Marty Jones, professor of chemistry, emeritus status at the annual Employee Recognition Ceremony on April 25 in Carson Auditorium.

Jones, known throughout the campus and outlaying community for his involvement and positive attitude, will be missed by students, faculty, and staff. Briana Lewis, a senior music major, took Jones’ introduction to chemistry class this semester after a friend convinced her to take his class. She went from dreading chemistry to enjoying the subject. “Dr. Jones shows examples of chemistry in the real world and does not over complicate the subject.”

Other honors recognized included tenure positions, promotions, announcement of 2012 Presidential Award recipients, and faculty/staff years of service.

Professors promoted include Dr. Jared Beeton, tenured associate professor of earth science; Dr. Laura Bruneau, tenured associate professor of counselor education; Dr. Zena Buser, associate professor of business; Dr. Mark Finney, tenured associate Professor of mass communication; Dr. Aaron Abeyta, full professor of English; Dr. Robert Demski, full professor of psychology; Dr. Richard Goddard, full professor of social studies.

Years of Service

Twenty-Five Years:

Dr. Rex Filer, professor of counselor education; Donna Griego, Enrollment Management program assistant;

Twenty Years:

Linda Jones, Extended Studies administrative assistant; Lori Laske, director of Alumni Relations; Tammy Lopez executive director of the Foundation; Ken Marquez, assistant vice president for Student Affairs; Liz Martinez, Extended Studies program director; Dr. Paul Newman, professor of theatre; Dr. Brent Ybarrondo, professor of biology;

Fifteen Years:

Dr. Rob Benson, professor of earth sciences; Beneranda Chacon, Perkins loan officer; Sherry Duran, custodian; Otis Hager, telecommunications electronics specialist; Dr. Margery Herrington, professor of biology; Mary Hoffman, executive director of ASC Community Partnerships; Charlie Johnson, IT professional; Dr. David Mazel, professor of English; Demetrius Vigil, custodian; Dr. Grace Young, professor of sociology;

Ten Years:

Traci Bishop, assistant to the assistant vice president for Extended Studies – Operations; Roger Eriksen, professor of art; Dr. Dick Goddard, professor of social studies; Karla Hardesty, Enrollment Management project manager; Heather Heersink, assistant vice president for budget and technology; Joe Mestas, groundskeeper; Tracy Rogers, director of Human Resources; Dr. Donna Stout, professor of teacher education;

Five Years:

Lorraine Aragon, custodian; Dr. Jared Beeton, associate professor of earth sciences; Renee Beeton, assistant professor of chemistry; Lisa Brown, Facilities Services administrative assistant II: Dr. Laura Bruneau, associate professor of counselor education; Dr. Zena Buser, associate professor of business; Dr. Mark Finney, associate professor of mass communications; Melissa Gastinger, Extended Studies administrative assistant I; Dale Goodrich, structural trades II; Gaylene Horning, Alumni Relations program assistant; Larry Joe Hunt, associate athletic director; Robert Lopez, coordinator of sports and recreation; Renee Monaghan, Records Office administrative assistant II; Diane Mondragon, assistant registrar; Dr. Michael Mumper, senior vice president for Enrollment Management; Jenna Neilsen, assistant professor of theatre; Michael Rael, IT professional; Alisha Riggs, police officer; Dr. Stephen Roberds, assistant professor of government; Roselie Schlaufman, Extended Studies administrative assistant III: Joel Shults, chief of campus police; Dervin Taylor, head softball coach; Jeremy Taylor, assistant director of Housing and Residence Life; Dr. Jamie VanValkenburg, associate professor of music; Dolores Vigil, custodian; Floyd Vigil, structural trades II; and Manny Wasinger, assistant football head coach.

2012 Adams State College Presidential Teacher Award Recipients

Dr. Rob Benson, professor of earth sciences; Dr. Mari Centeno, associate professor of political science; Dr. Beth Robison, assistant professor of music.