ASU hosts National Society of Leadership and Success Banquet


Article by Maya Ramirez

inductee group standing on stage

Photo by Daniel Parsons. Inductees include: Aaron Miltenberger, Alexandrea Schroeder, Alina Peisley, Amber Reyes, Angela Prentiss, Ariel Eddings, Ariel Rangel-Pereira, Ashley Favela, Aspen Hahn, Bianca Munoz, Cade Kunugi, Carissa Sidor, Carly Romnes, Cassandra Truelson, Cody Morton, Darin Sisneros, Darling Najar-Madera, Demi Mizokami, Casey Veneman, Drake Sisneros, Elizabeth Strang, Emily Pizel, Gretchen Rachlis, Isabella Whitten, Jenna McLaren, Jennifer Carter, Josh Lehman, Justine Brydges, Kelli Williams, Keren Bakke, Kurt Urbin, Kyra Garrison, Lauren Karlskin, Lukas Cash, Melissa Romero, Mianna Maestas, Michelle Crowther, Nicholas Spencer, Nicole Cyr, Nikita Christensen, Rory Gallegos, Taylor Schmidt, Tessa Beran, and Travis Vegalga.

Forty-four Adams State University students were inducted into the National Society of Leadership and Success Banquet on April 17, in McDaniel Hall. Catered by local restaurant, May Wa, the banquet room was filled with the inductees, their friends and family. NSLS graduates received a cord and inductees received a pin

Keynote speaker Vice President for Student Affairs Ken Marquez spoke about leadership. "Leadership is passion and knowing who you are and where you come from," Marquez said. He stressed the importance of a positive attitude. "Swallow your pride and do not hold a grudge." He encouraged the audience to be open to change and listen to others.

Members of NSLS spoke about the organization and its goals, motto, and projects, including President Travis Vesalga, Treasure Lukas Cash, and Ashley Favela, NSLS success networking teams' coordinator.

NSLS Inductee Darling Najar-Madera spoke about the positive influence of NSLS has had on her freshman year. She has many hopes and plans for her upcoming collegiate years.