ASU honors many dedicated faculty and staff


rachel heaton, stevon cornish, carly romnes, dr. nick saenz, dr. anicia alvarez, karen adamson, david wreford

Photo by Julie Waechter. The annual Adams State University Employee Recognition Ceremony included honoring the 2015 Presidential Teacher Award recipients. Pictured, (back row) student selection committee members Rachel Heaton, Stevon Cornish, and Carly Romnes, (front row) Dr. Nick Saenz, assistant professor of history; Dr. Anicia Alvarez, associate professor of teacher education; Karen Adamson, assistant professor of nursing; and David Wreford, adjunct instructor of English.

Faculty Promotions

Dr. Robert Astalos, professor of mathematics;
Dr. Jared Beeton, professor of earth sciences;
Dr. Zena Buser, professor of business;
Dr. Stephanie Hilwig, professor of sociology;
Dr. Beth Robison, professor of music;
Dr. Claire van der Plas, associate professor of art;
Dr. Benjamin Waddell, associate professor of sociology;
Dr. Brandon Wilde, associate professor of counselor education.

Tenure was awarded to: van der Plas, Waddell, Wilde, and Yusri Zaro, assistant professor of business.

group photo of asu employees recognized at ceremony

Photo by Julie Waechter Pictured, left to right, (back row) Dr. Stephen Aldrich, Dr. Kristy Duran, Lisa Clements, Nate Pacheco, Tawney Becker, Yusri Zaro, David Hargis, Dr. Carol Guerrero-Murphy; (front row) Dr. Nick Saenz, Dr. Anicia Alvarez, Angelica Valdez, Melissa Milner, Karen Adamson, Kristin Young-Jaramillo, Shawn Elliott, Danielle Smith, Maria Valdez, Sally Kelly, Eileen Tilton, Dr. Robert Astalos, Elaine Wenta, Stephanie Lewis, Marian Hart, Andrea Rydgren, Lisa Wilson, David Wreford, and Miguel Chaparro.

Faculty and staff honored for Years of Service

Thirty Years:
Dr. Don Basse, professor of counselor education;
Marian Hart, Student Union Building administrative assistant;

Twenty-Five Years:
Maria Valdez, Business Office accounting technician II;
Dr. Susan Varhely, Counselor Education Department professor and chair;

Twenty Years:
Dr. Carol Guerrero-Murphy, professor of English and CIELO chair;
Jeff Horton, Facilities Services structural trades III;
Fifteen Years: Alan Carbutt, Computing Services senior systems administrator/programmer;
Dr. Joel Judd, professor of teacher education;
Stephanie Lewis, assistant director of auxiliary services/Student Union Building;
Dr. Rich Loosbrock, associate professor of history;
Pat Roybal, Computing Services IT professional;
Danielle Smith, Financial Aid student loan counselor/default prevention manager;
Eileen Tilton, History, Anthropology, Philosophy, Political Science, Spanish Department administrative assistant III;
Angelica Valdez, Upward Bound director;

Ten Years:
Dr. Stephen Aldrich, professor of mathematics;
Dr. Robert Astalos, professor of mathematics and planetarium/observatory director;
Dr. George Backen, professor of philosophy;
Eric Carpio, assistant vice president for Enrollment Management;
Lisa Clements, Financial Aid generalist;
Dr. Tracy Doyle, Music Department professor and chair;
David Hargis, Extended Studies production coordinator;
Andrew Herrera, Facilities Services custodian;
Sally Kelly, Office of Admissions administrative assistant I;
Toni Martinez, Extended Studies administrative assistant II;
Lindy Mortensen, women's volleyball coach;
Robert Muqueen, Facilities Services IT professional II;
Kevin Ruybal, Facilities Services grounds & nursery I;
Dr. Matthew Schildt, professor of music;
Kristin Young-Jaramillo, Purchasing Office technician II;

Five Years:
Carlos Archuleta, Facilities Services custodian I;
Tawney Becker, grant specialist;
Alex Brown, Computing Services IT professional I;
Tim Busen, head coach men's soccer;
Miguel Chaparro, College Assistance Migrant Program Recruitment and Retention;
Dr. Kristy Duran, associate professor of biology;
Shawn Elliott, Nursing Program director;
Kara Espinoza, English Department administrative assistant;
Ernesto Lopez, Facilities Services custodian;
Regina Rice, Music Department administrative assistant II;
Andrea Rydgren, Teacher Education Department Excell grant coordinator;
Leonard Sandoval, Facilities Services structural trades II;
Jonie Threatt, Academic Advising Center coordinator;
Anna Torello, Title V project specialist;
Dr. Claire van der Plas, associate professor of art;
Elaine Wenta, Teacher Education Department administrative assistant;
Dr. Brandon Wilde, associate professor of counselor education;
Lisa Wilson, Office of Records academic records coordinator;
Louis Wilson, head men's basketball coach;
Yusri Zaro, assistant professor of business.

tresa rupright, Nathan Rael, Eduardo Rodriguez, Michael Martinez, chief paul grohowski

Photo by Julie Waechter. The Adams State Police Department includes Tresa Rupright, Eduardo Rodriguez, Nathan Rael, Michael Martinez, and Chief Paul Grohowski.

Adams State Police Department Awards

Nathan Rael, police office I; Eduardo Rodriguez, police officer I, and Michael Martinez, police officer I

Emeritus Status and Announced Retirement

Dr. Rex Filer, emeritus professor of counselor education;
Dr. Carol Guerrero-Murphy, emeritus professor English;
Dr. David Svaldi, emeritus president and emeritus professor of speech;
Dr. Susan Varhely, emeritus professor of counselor education.

Additional Retirements

David Bauer, Facilities Services grounds and nursery I;
Dr. Linda Christian, professor of teacher education;
Lynn Crowder, Teacher Education Department professional program coordinator;
Donna Griego, Counselor Education Department online plus coordinator;
Marty Heaton, head football coach;
Liz Martinez, Extended Studies program director and professional development;
Carol Otto, Nursing Program administrative assistant.

Associated Student and Faculty (AS&F) Faculty and Staff Awards

Melissa Milner, assistant professor of nursing;
Nate Pacheco, Counselor Education Department administrative assistant II.

Exemplary Performance Award Recipients

Jenny Gawronski, assistant professor of art;
Dr. Matthew Schildt, professor of music