Adams State student leaders are recognized


Adams State College students often go beyond expectations to assist their fellow classmates in everything from tutoring to extracurricular activities. The Adams State College Student Leadership Recognition Awards Banquet, held on March 30, honored many of those individuals. The inaugural event was an idea of Jennifer Carter, business management major, president of the Grizzly Activity Board and general manager of the college radio station, KASF. She said the banquet evolved from working with numerous organizations on campus.

Two $1000 scholarships and 15 awards were given to outstanding student leaders, and approximately 100 people were in attendance including administration and faculty members. "I am extremely hopeful that this event will continue for years to come, and that each year is better than the last," Carter said. "I truly hope that student leaders are encouraged to continue their good actions, and that others who want to get involved are inspired."

When Carter approached the college administration with the idea she said they were supportive. Dean of Student Affairs Ken Marquez and Provost Michael Mumper were involved in the process.

"There are so many outstanding student leaders on the campus who work tirelessly to make the entirety of the community better than before," she said. "These students deserve to be recognized and rewarded for their volunteerism and leadership."

Marquez awarded Christine Preiss and Carter each a $1000 scholarship. He said as a student he was inspired by his resident assistant to be involved and it "made a huge impact" on his life.

Students and the award received included Miguel Chaparro, AS&F Club Leadership; Jacque Archuleta, AS&F Student Government; Jennifer Carter, Above & Beyond and Exemplary Service to ASC; Christine Preiss, Counseling and Career Center; Jessica Chamberlin, Exemplary Service to the Community; Jessica Stevens, Grizzly Activity Board; Rachel Ranguindin, Grizzly Learning & Testing Center; Erin Baldwin, Housing; Nathan Shock, Student Engagement and Success; TiaNecia Mosley, Student Life and Recreation; and Ashlie Cogburn, Student Support Services.

The Student Leadership committee included Marquez, Mick Daniel, director of student life and recreation; Aaron Miltenberger, coordinator of student activities; Brian Rauscher, director of student support services; Masood Ahmad, director of student engagement and success; and student volunteers Carter and Jessica Stevens, who will succeed Carter as the GAB president.

By Linda Relyea