ASC Provost Office announces the Presidential Teacher Award finalists


Acknowledging professors dedication to their students inspired the Adams State College Presidential Teacher Award, recognizing outstanding undergraduate teaching, advising, and mentoring.

In the fall, Provost Michael Mumper and a committee of undergraduate students, including Jonie Coulson, Ryan Laverdiere, Kayla Lanoue, Crystal Sebastian, Leslie Widger, and Heather Wood, initiated the award and requested Adams State students nominate their favorite professors by submitting a 100 word essay.

Over 40 faculty members were nominated and the six finalists are Dr. Robert Astalos, assistant professor of physics; Eva Brown, instructor and coordinator of distance degree program in sociology; Dr. Stephanie Gonzalez, assistant professor of sociology; Dr. Kim Kelso, chair of the psychology department; Gene Schilling, professor of art; and Armando Valdez, assistant professor of business.

After selecting the finalists, the committee members observed the professors in their classrooms. The next step is conducting personal interviews. During the interviews, the candidates will discuss their teaching philosophy, classroom practices, non-classroom advising and mentoring activities, and the Presidential Teacher course the finalist is proposing.

The Presidential Teacher will receive $1500 to support his or her professional development and the opportunity to teach a special Presidential Teacher Course during the next academic year. Mumper said the winners will be announced after spring break.

By Linda Relyea