ASC Provost Office announces the Presidential Teacher Award finalists


Now in its second year, the Adams State College Presidential Teacher Award acknowledges professors dedication to their students and recognizes outstanding undergraduate teaching, advising, and mentoring.

In the fall, Provost Michael Mumper formed a committee of undergraduate students, including Jessica Adams, Sarah Lamb, Lindsey Nelson, Heather Wood, and Kayla Lanoue - they requested Adams State students nominate their favorite professors by submitting a 100-word essay.

The six finalists are Dr. Joyce Centofanti, associate professor of art; Richard Vallone, assistant professor of business; Dr. John Taylor, professor of theater; Dr. Stephen Roberds, associate professor of government; Dr. Tim Armstrong, professor of biology; and Dr. Marty Jones, professor of chemistry.

After selecting the finalists, the committee members observed the professors in their classrooms. The next step is conducting personal interviews. During the interviews, the candidates will discuss their teaching philosophy, classroom practices, non-classroom advising and mentoring activities, and the Presidential Teacher course the finalist is proposing.

The Presidential Teacher will receive $1500 to support his or her professional development and the opportunity to teach a special Presidential Teacher Course during the next academic year. Mumper said the winners will be announced after spring break.