ASC Provost Office announces the Presidential Teacher Award finalists


Now in its third year, the Adams State College Presidential Teacher Award acknowledges professors dedication to their students and recognizes outstanding undergraduate teaching, advising, and mentoring.

In the fall, Provost Michael Mumper formed a committee of undergraduate students, Jessica Adams, biology; Sonny Chavez, art; Sarah Lamb, business; Kayla Lanoue, geology; and Lindsey Nelson, psychology - they requested Adams State students nominate their favorite professors by submitting a 100-word essay.

The six finalists are Dr. James Bedard, assistant professor of biology; Dr. Tracy Doyle, associate chair of music; Clarence Parks, professor of sociology; Dr. Stephen Roberds, associate professor of government; Armando Valdez, assistant professor of business; and Sarah Vance, a teacher on special assignment (TOSA) in teacher education.

This year more than 160 students submitted nomination and 41 faculty members received at least one nomination.

The committee members will observe the finalists in their classrooms and conduct personal interviews. During the interviews, the candidates will discuss their teaching philosophy, classroom practices, non-classroom advising and mentoring activities, and the Presidential Teacher course the finalist is proposing.

The Presidential Teacher will receive $1500 to support his or her professional development and the opportunity to teach a special Presidential Teacher Course during the next academic year. Mumper said the winners will be announced after spring break.

For more info