ASC theatre student wins outstanding acting award


David Trudeau image

David Trudeau

Adams State College theater major David Trudeau won the Rocky Mountain Theatre Association's award for Outstanding College Actor in the five-state western region at the recent RMTA Festival in Helena, Mont. His victory is the seventh time in the last eleven years that an Adams State student has won the college acting competition.

"Winning was an incredible honor," said Trudeau. "There were so many great competitors. To be awarded that title was not only a personal victory, but I felt it a privilege to represent the ASC Theatre Department. We've shown, with now eight actors out of the last twelve competitions winning the Outstanding College Actor Award, that we have one of the best programs not only in Colorado but the region."

Fellow theater major Kaitlyn Perham joined Trudeau as one of six collegient competitors who made it past the preliminary round into the finals.

Dr. Paul S. Newman, theatre program coordinator, said he was pleased theatre students not only won the college acting competition, but also took second place as well. Trudeau, transferred to Adams State to become a lighting designer. "We theater faculty think his calling should be acting. He's become a leading man for us. Perham, who took second in a field of 31, was brilliant in her monologue and scene work. She will be at Adams for another two years and we look forward to developing her talents for the Main Stage."

According to Professor of Theatre Dr. John H. Taylor, actors are ranked first by three judges in the preliminaries, which featured actors from Idaho State University, Rocky Mountain College in Billings, Metro State in Denver, and many community colleges from the area. Among the six in the finals were Trudeau and Perham, three actors from Metro, and an actor from CC Aurora.

The Adams State production of "Children of a Lesser God", directed by Taylor, was presented as a showcase production at the festival. This is fifth time since 2002 that an Adams State production was selected to be performed at the festival.

Taylor said the production received a lot of praise from festival attendees. "I'm proud of the work our students put into restaging this challenging show. They represented Adams State College and our theatre program well."

Taylor was awarded the organization's President's Award in recognition of his outstanding contributions to RMTA and for his ten years of service on its board of directors. During those years, Taylor served as president, past-president, vice-president, and treasurer for the organization. Jenna Neilsen, assistant professor of theatre, was elected as the next vice-president of the organization. Newman was re-elected to another two-year term as treasurer.

The Rocky Mountain Theatre Association is a five-state regional theatre organization. Members include universities, colleges, community theatres, and high schools from Colorado, Montana, Wyoming, and Idaho, and Utah. It is the oldest organization of its kind in the United States. Next year's festival will be held in Cheyenne, Wyo.

On the Web...