2013 Presidential Teacher Award finalists announced


presidential teacher award finalist spring13 main image

Dr. Mari Centeno, associate professor of political science was one of the recipients for the 2012 Presidential Teacher Award.

Now in its sixth year, the Adams State University Presidential Teacher Award acknowledges professors dedication to their students and recognizes outstanding undergraduate teaching, advising, and mentoring.

In the fall, Dr. Michael Mumper, senior vice president for Enrollment Management/Program Development, formed a committee of undergraduate students, Joshua Garibay, HPPE; Chelsea Oden, music Ben Pluta, education; and Pauline "Tori" Vigil, psychology. They requested Adams State undergraduate students nominate professors who they feel best exemplify what it means to be a great college teacher. More than 80 nominations were submitted (26 separate professors were nominated).

The five finalists are Dr. Sheryl Abeyta, assistant professor of accounting; Dr. Leslie Alvarez, associate professor of psychology; Dr. Zena Buser, assistant professor of business; Victoria Kretche, visiting assistant professor of nursing; and Dr. Yusri Zaro, assistant professor of business.

The three winners will be announced later in the spring semester.

The committee members will observe the finalists in their classrooms and conduct personal interviews. During the interviews, the candidates will discuss their teaching philosophy, classroom practices, non-classroom advising and mentoring activities, and the Presidential Teacher course the finalist is proposing.

The Presidential Teacher will receive $1500 to support his or her professional development and the opportunity to teach a special Presidential Teacher Course during the next academic year.