Saxophone Quartet to perform on March 19


The Kokila Saxophone Quartet will perform in concert starting at 7:30 p.m. Monday, March 19, in Adams State College Leon Memorial Hall. The program will include "Rush" by David Kechley; "Andante et Scherzo" by Eugene Bozza; "Back Burner" by Frank Ticheli; and Recitation Book by David Maslanka.

Recently named winners of the Texas-MTNA Chamber Music competition, the Kokila Quartet, formed in May 2011, expanded their presence throughout the Southwest. The quartet includes Adams State alumnus, Jason Pockrus, baritone chair. He and all members of the quartet are pursuing their doctoral degrees at the University of North Texas. Members include soprano chair, Kyle Stec, alto chair Eric Mills, and tenor chair Mark Smith.

The members have received notable recognition, individually and as a quartet. In 2011, Stec was named the National 2nd-prize Winner of the MTNA Young Artist Woodwind Soloist Competition, winner of the UNT Concerto Competition, and winner of the Jo Ann Dunn Fargason Prize. Mills served as Drum Major of the Green Brigade Marching Band, section coordinator of the University of North Texas Wind Symphony, and Fraternity Education Officer and Music Director of UNT's Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Chapter.

Pockrus appeared as a featured soloist with the University of New Mexico Symphonic Orchestra, in 2009, as a member of the University of North Texas Wind Symphony on their recent "Ciphers" album, and as a member of the UNT 3 O'Clock Lab Band.

Kokila competed in the Music Teacher's National Association Chamber Music Competition at the state (1st place) and South Central Divisional (2nd place) levels.