ASC employees recognized for years of service


Adams State College awarded Dr. Ted McNeilsmith, professor of sociology, emeritus status at the annual Employee Recognition Ceremony on April 28 on the Theatre Main Stage.

McNeilsmith taught at Adams State for18 years. He said, "I have had the best job in the world." He started his Adams State career in the Department of Sociology and for the last two years has helped to grow and develop the agribusiness program in the School of Business.

Other honors recognized included tenure positions, promotions, announcement of 2010 Presidential Award recipients, and faculty/staff years of service.

Professors awarded tenure and promotion include Dr. Leslie Alvarez, associate professor of psychology; Dr. Tracy Doyle, associate professor of music; Dr. Brent King, associate professor of psychology; and Dr. Matthew Schildt, associate professor of music. Dr. Donald Johnston, associate provost for graduate studies, and Dr. Stephen Roberds, associate professor of American government, were awarded tenure. Dr. Sheryl Ludwig, associate professor of teacher education, and Dr. David MacWilliams, professor of English, were promoted.

Faculty and staff honored for Years of Service includes --Thirty-five Years: Tom Fuller, computing services applications programmer; Twenty-Five Years: Dr. Don Basse, professor of counselor education; Marian Hart, Student Union Building administrative assistant; John Neal, facilities services structural trades; Twenty Years: Mike Garcia, facilities services custodian; Dwight Smith, facilities services structural trades; Maria Valdez, accounting technician; Dr. Susan Varhely, counselor education chair; Fifteen Years: Murleen Goodrich, library technician; Dr. Carol Guerrero-Murphy, professor of English; Jeff Horton, facilities services structural trades; Melanie Jeppesen, human resources administrative assistant; Dr. Teri McCartney, professor of counselor education; Ten Years: Alan Carbutt, computing services applications programmer; Angelica Gallegos, upward bound director; Layne Hall, Adams State police officer; Dr. Stu Hilwig, professor of history; Dr. Joel Judd, professor of teacher education; Stephanie Lewis, assistant director of auxiliary services/Student Union Building; Dr. Rich Loosbrock, professor of history; Ken Marquez, dean of student affairs; Pat Roybal, computing services IT Professional; Danielle Smith, records evaluator; Eileen Tilton, administrative assistant; Erik van de Boogaard, associate vice president for facilities planning, design and construction; Five Years: Dr. Stephen Aldrich, associate professor of mathematics; Dr. Barbara Andrews, associate professor of counselor education; Dr. Robert Astalos, associate professor of physics; Amanda Atencio, upward bound counselor coordinator; Dr. George Backen, assistant professor of philosophy; Eric Carpio, director of admissions; Lisa Clements, financial aid generalist; Dr. Tracy Doyle, associate chair of music; Kristie Duran, admissions senior counselor; David Hargis, extended studies production coordinator; Andrew Herrera, facilities services custodian; Dr. Brent King, associate professor of psychology; Sally Kelly, admissions administrative assistant; Toni Martinez, records administrative assistant; Lindy Mortensen, volleyball coach; Robert Mulqueen, computing services IT Professional; Kevin Ruybal, facilities services grounds keeper; Dr. Matthew Schildt, associate professor of music; Ezy Ulibarri, one stop senior counselor; Dr. Stephen Weiss, associate professor of psychology; and Kristin Young-Jaramillo, purchasing office technician.

Employees retiring in the spring 2010 included Di Machado, director of Nielsen Library; Dr. Ted McNeilsmith, emeritus professor of sociology; Ray Welch, computing services IT Professional; and Dr. Rafe Weston, professor of economics.

Adams State awarded Dr. Tracy Doyle, associate chair of music; Dr. Clarence Parks, professor of sociology; and Dr. Stephen C. Roberds, associate professor of government; the Presidential Teacher Award. David Wreford, adjunct instructor of English, received the Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award.