ASU honors many dedicated faculty and staff


group photo of employees holding certificates

The annual Adams State University Employee Recognition Ceremony honored many faculty and staff members.

Faculty who received promotions included: Dr. James Doyle, associate professor of music; Dr. Elizabeth Hensley, associate professor of business; Dr. Stephanie Hensley, associate professor of teacher education; Dr. Adam Kleinschmit, associate professor of biology; Dr. Renee Beeton, professor of chemistry; Dr. Jeff Elison, professor of psychology; and Dr. Patricia Robbins, professor of business.

Tenure was awarded to: Doyle, Stephanie Hensley, Kleinschmit, and Sanders.

Years of Service

Twenty-Five Years: Linda Jones, accounting technician III; Lori Laske, director of Alumni Relations; Tammy Lopez, executive director of Foundation; Ken Marquez, vice president for Student Services; Twenty Years: Dr. Rob Benson, professor of earth sciences; Beneranda Chacon, Perkins loan officer; Otis Hager, telecommunications electronics specialist; Mary Hoffman, executive director of Community Partnerships; Demetrius Vigil, custodian; Dr. Grace Young, professor/chair of sociology; Fifteen Years: Traci Bishop, Administration and Finance program coordinator; Roger Eriksen, professor of art; Dr. Richard Goddard, professor of anthropology; Karla Hardesty, director of Marketing and Enrollment Management; Heather Heersink, chief financial officer; Joe Mestas, grounds and nursery; Tracy Rogers, director of Human Resources.

Ten Years: Dr. Jared Beeton, professor of earth sciences; Dr. Renee Beeton, professor of chemistry; Lisa Brown, Facilities Services administrative assistant II; Laura Bruneau, professor of counselor education; Dr. Zena Buser, professor of business; Melissa Conley, Extended Studies administrative assistant; Larry Joe Hunt, head coach women's basketball; Robert Lopez, associate athletic director; Renee Monaghan, Records administrative assistant; Diane Kissell, assistant registrar; Dr. Michael Mumper, professor of history; Jenna Neilsen, associate professor of theatre; Michael Rael, IT professional; Roselie Schlaufman, Extended Studies administrative assistant III; Dervin Taylor, head softball coach; Jeremy Taylor, assistant director of Housing and Residence Life; Dolores Vigil, custodian.

Five Years: Michael Austin, structural trades; James Capra, head baseball coach; Matthew Chacon, IT technician II; Kathleen Chavez, English instructor; Clayton Davis, custodian; Stacy Davis, technology specialist; Susan Ennis, Extended Studies administrative assistant; Alicia Harmon, Human Resources administrative assistant III; Dr. Stephanie Hensley, associate professor of teacher education; Dr. Adams Kleinschmit, associate professor of biology; Nate Pacheco, Counselor Education assistant coordinator; Erica Romero, scholarship coordinator; Maximiliano Ruybal, assistant athletic director; Dr. Michael Tomlin, professor of management; Nicole Trujillo, electronics resources and discovery librarian; Trevor Turner, academic advising coordinator; Alfonso Velasquez, instructional designer/trainer; Carissa Watts, Extended Studies director of advisement and recruitment; Dr. Jeremy Yeats, assistant professor of HPPE.

Dr. Ed Lyell, professor of business, received emeritus status

Additional retirements include Julia Chavez, Extended Studies advisor online programs; Cecil Fell, Athletics equipment manager; Barbara Griego-Jones, HPPE administrative assistant; Cathy Heaton, English instructor and AAA coordinator; Dr. William Herrmann, assistant professor of accounting; Bea Martinez, Student Business Services director; and Tresa Rupright, police officer I.

Dr. Tracey Robinson, professor of HPPE, received the Exemplary Performance Award.