From: Board of Trustees <>
Date: Mon, Aug 29, 2022 at 3:16 PM
Subject: Presidential Search Update

Dear Adams State Campus Community:

The Adams State University presidential search committee conducted its first meeting
Thursday evening, August 25, 2022. The committee was solidified and consists of a
wide range of university representatives that were nominated by department heads. Key
community leaders in government, education, and business/industry are also a part of
the group.

While the committee has a wealth of experience in their chosen fields, it was decided
that a Request for Proposals (RFP) will be posted to recruit a talented search firm to
assist in the process. The search firm will be required to have familiarity and knowledge
of the needs of Adams State not only today but moving forward for the next few
decades. Once a search firm is finalized, the search committee will move forward with
numerous listening sessions across campus, the Valley, and beyond this fall. A variety
of perspectives will be necessary to make the right choice in presidential leadership.
The search committee intends to meet at least monthly to conduct its business with an
aim to move the top candidates for a full review by the Board of Trustees in the spring,

Updated information regarding the presidential search can be found

Go Grizzlies!

Jonathan Marquez, co-chair, search committee
Mark Martinez, co-chair, search committee
Faculty Senate: Jenna Nielsen and Neil Rigsbee
Academic Council: Colleen Schaffner
Graduate Council: Melissa Freeman
PASC: Trevor Turner
Classified Employees: Rodney Martinez
Administration (exempt): Margaret Doell
Administration (eTeam): Bruce Rosengrant
Athletics: Katelyn Smith
AS&F (undergrad): Jose Villagomez
AS&F (graduate): Courtney Hocking
Adams State Foundation: Duane Bussey
K-12 Representative: Carrie Zimmerman
Alamosa Businesses: Jennifer Mueller
Community Leadership: Konnie Martin
Governmental Leadership: Cleave Simpson
DEI Leadership: Heidi Schneider
Trustees HSI Leadership: Arthur Ortegon
Alumni at-large: Lance Hostetter
Alumni at-large: Kole Kelley
Board of Trustees: Michele Lueck