Priscila Zapata-Chavez
Priscila Zapata-Chavez

Priscila Zapata-Chavez, a senior at Center High School, was crowned the 75th Spud Bowl Queen during halftime of the Adams State University vs. Fort Lewis College football game on November 6, 2021.

Priscila Zapata-Chacon
Autumn Yocom congratulates Priscila Zapata-Chacon.

The Spud Bowl tradition began in 1946, when the potato farmers in the Valley were asked to contribute sacks of spuds to the University, which, in turn, were converted into cash to supplement the athletic program. The tradition and spirit have continued, and Spud Bowl remains a highlight of each football season.

Autumn Yocom
Autumn Yocom

Autumn Yocom, a 2020 Sargent High School graduate and current Adams State student, also received recognition at halftime. Due to 2020 COVID restrictions Yocum’s crowning was not public.

Autumn Yocom and Cheryl D. Lovell
Autumn Yocom receives her crown from President Cheryl D. Lovell.

Each year, San Luis Valley high schools are asked to nominate a senior candidate for Spud Bowl. The candidates are interviewed by a panel of judges, and the winner is selected and announced at halftime of the football game. The Colorado Potato Administrative Committee and Adams State University Foundation award scholarships of $1,000 to each contestant to attend Adams State and $2,000 to the Spud Bowl Queen.

Jessa Christensen, Kyla Davis, Aracely Pedro-Pablo, Hannah Trujillo, Camille Rawinski, Marissa Chacon, Priscila Zapata-Chavez, Dailin Estrada, Sofia Minchaca, JaeLea Maestas
The 2021 Adams State Spud Bowl candidates included, right to left, front row, Jessa Christensen, Centauri High School; Kyla Davis, Sargent High School; Aracely Pedro-Pablo, Alamosa High School; Hannah Trujillo, Del Norte High School; Camille Rawinski, Monte Vista High School; back row, Marissa Chacon, Antonito High School; Priscila Zapata-Chavez, Center High School; Dailin Estrada, Sanford High School; Sofia Minchaca, Sierra Grande High School; and JaeLea Maestas, Centennial High School. Not pictured, Yessenia Vera, Mountain Valley High School, and Kamryn Rogers, Sangre de Cristo High School.

Judges for this year’s contest were Roger Mix and Matt Seger, Colorado Potato Administrative Committee, and Maria Valdez, Adams State accounting technician II.