The Adams State University Educators Hall of Fame recognizes prepared educators at any level who have made a significant contribution to the field of education.

Adams State has a strong history in preparing and contributing to the success of professionals in education. This award recognizes excellent educators in their fields of expertise and their demonstration of high moral character.

The Adams State University Teacher Education Department Annual Educators Hall of Fame celebration recognizes outstanding educators who have dedicated their careers and lives to education and improved the lives of others.  The event showcases educators that have created opportunities for students to achieve academic and professional success.

Past Award Recipients

Educators Hall of Fame Event

May 11, 2021

Nominate Someone Nominate Someone (PDF)

Nominations for the class of 2021 are due August 6th.

Last Years Inductees

  • Elementary Educators: Mildred Cogburn, Lloyd “Butch” Jones, Coral Sowards
  • Secondary Educators: John Fuller, Jose Garcia, Margie Garcia
  • Administrators: Otto Espinoza, Herman Gallegos, Steven Grasmick
  • Post Secondary Educators: Martin Jones, Ph.D., Wayne Melanson, Ph.D., Cloyde Snook, Elizabeth (Liz) Watts, Ph.D.

For more information, call the Adams State Teacher Education Department, at 719-587-7776.

Selection Committee Members

  • Dr. Curtis Garcia
  • Dr. Stephanie Hensley
  • Mrs. Lori Laske
  • Mr. Dennis Lopez
  • Mr. Ted Morrison
  • Mr. Curt Wilson
  • Dr. Beverly DeVore-Wedding
  • Dr. Michele Mann
  • Mrs. Chrissy McKinney
  • Dr. Kieran Nduagbo